Disclaimer: We may earn affiliate commissions if you decide to purchase through our links. For more details read our Affiliate Disclaimer and Ownership Disclosure.

Surfshark VPN Review 2022 – VPNRanks

Surfshark is an all-rounder VPN service that works with Netflix/torrenting and is pretty affordable. For all its unique capabilities and proprietary features, it has earned a rating of 9.5/10. To find out everything that's good and bad about Surfshark, check out this in-depth Surfshark review.

Editor's Rating
/10

Surfshark is no longer the new kid on the block. In fact, it has become one of the best VPN service packed with feature-rich apps, powerful unblocking ability, fast speeds, and a massive server network.

Surfshark guarantees that it maintains no logs of privacy-sensitive information of users, claiming that Cure53’s independent audit is legitimate. Moreover, it is also safe to use, thanks to its AES 256-bit encryption and the latest WireGuard protocol.

Despite the rising inflation, the VPN continues to be down-to-earth by offering its service at a super-affordable cost. While this sounds fantastic, you may wonder: Is Surfshark really as great? Can it keep you secure across the globe? Is the service consistent?

In this Surfshark review, we’ll test every feature of this premium VPN provider. We’ll check what it offers at such an affordable price, how consistent its features are, and how they differ from every other VPN provider. So, without further ado, let’s get started!


Surfshark Review: Surfshark Pros and Cons

Here is a list of pros and cons we compiled after Surfshark review:

Pros
  • Unlimited simultaneous connections
  • Responsive live chat support 24/7
  • Ad-blocker and malware scanner
  • Kill switch, AES-256 encryption, and a no-logs policy
  • Bypasser, CleanWeb, and Built-in speed test tool
  • NoBorder and Camouflage modes
  • OpenVPN, WireGuard, and IKEv2 protocols
  • Global server network coverage
  • Exceptional streaming performance
  • Pricing packages at low prices
Cons
  • Slow speeds on a few server locations
  • Split Tunneling feature is unavailable on Apple devices

Here are the Key Findings of the Surfshark Review

Here are the key findings of the Surfshark review:

  • StreamingSurfshark has powerful unblocking capabilities to unblock Netflix, BBC iPlayer, and more. We conducted several streaming tests.
  • SpeedWe got fast download speeds with the VPN, which were consistent on all its servers. However, the upload speeds were a bit slow on some servers.
  • Server Network – Surfshark offers an extensive network of servers worldwide that has been tested to be pretty reliable.
  • SecurityTons of built-in features for improving online security against various cyber threats. These advanced features are not available in other VPN services.
  • Privacy – Surfshark has a strict zero-logs policy, and it doesn’t store any user information. Its privacy policy is transparent, and it is also audited.
  • Torrenting Surfshark’s servers are good for downloading torrents from any region.
  • Installation & Apps – Offers easy-to-use apps for newbies with a minimalistic design and easy navigation.
  • CompatibilityIt supports unlimited multi-connections and offers apps for various devices and operating systems, including routers and Smart TVs.
  • PricingIt offers unbelievably low prices, costing only $2.05/mo (Get 84% + 2 Months FREE this Black Friday/Cyber Monday), making it the most affordable VPN.
  • Reliability and SupportIt delivers reliable service and excellent customer support by offering live chat, email support, installation guides, FAQs, and more.

Surfshark VPN Specs – At A Glance

Surfshark logo 2
Servers3200
Countries100
Price$2.05/mo (Get 84% + 2 Months FREE this Black Friday/Cyber Monday)
Free Trial7 Days on Mobile
Simultaneous ConnectionsUnlimited
Compatible DevicesiOS, Android, macOS, Windows, FireStick, Smart TVs, Gaming Consoles, routers
Speeds80+ Mbps (on 100 Mbps)
Keeps LogsNo
DNS Leak ProtectionYes
Kill SwitchYes
HeadquartersThe Netherlands
P2P SupportYes
Customer Support24/7 Live Chat Support
Other FeaturesCleanWeb, NoBorders, WireGuard protocol, MultiHop


Streaming – Is Surfshark Good for Streaming? ⭐9.0

Yes, Surfshark is one of the best VPNs for streaming due to its feature-packed service. It offers multiple advanced features to enhance your streaming experience. To start, there’s Smart DNS, using which Surfshark can be configured on almost any device, even the ones that don’t support VPNs.

Surfshark can easily unblock 20+ streaming platforms. We tested Surfshark with streaming services such as Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Hulu, and Amazon Prime Video and found them working flawlessly.

Streaming PlatformsUnblocking Ability
Netflix
HBO Max
Amazon Prime Video
Peacock TV
YLE Areena
ITV Hub
Disney+
BBC iPlayer
Crunchyroll
Yle
Channel 4
Hulu
DAZN
fuboTV
Stan
Amazon Prime Video
Hotstar
YouTube TV
ESPN & ESPN+
CraveTV
AppleTV+

Does Surfshark work with Netflix?

Yes, Surfshark works well with Netflix. Surfshark lets you stream Netflix on mobile and desktop operating systems, including iOS, Android, Windows, and macOS. You can further use its Firefox and Chrome extensions if you prefer streaming Netflix in your browser. Surfshark is also a great VPN for streaming on TV.

As per our tests, Surfshark supports 30+ Netflix libraries from all over the world. For Netflix US, we connected to its US – Boston server. Surfshark works great with Netflix, delivering fast streaming speed and HD picture quality.

surfshark-unblocked-netflix-us

We could access all exclusive content present in the Netflix US library with Surfshark.

Another strange thing we experienced when accessing international libraries with Surfshark is that most EU servers were redirected to Netflix US. It was quite confusing for me. We contacted customer support about it, and they clarified that it is perfectly safe to use EU servers to watch Netflix US.

surfshark-email-on-netflix-library-support

Customer support clarified that Surfshark servers are configured to automatically open US Netflix for regions they don’t support.

Basically, you can use servers in Europe that are close to you to access Netflix US instead of using long-distance US servers, which will definitely affect your connection speeds. This was a bit surprising yet convenient for me. We tested Netflix US on Sweden and the Czech servers and didn’t encounter any Netflix proxy errors.

Apart from the US and UK Netflix, Surfshark managed to unblock popular Netflix libraries, as shown in the table below:

Netflix LibrariesWorking (Yes/No)Speed drop (%)Buffering
Netflix US12% decreaseNo
Netflix UK5.3% decreaseMinimal
Netflix IT1.3% decreaseNo
Netflix DE 1.7% decreaseMinimal
Netflix AU48% decreaseMinimal
Netflix JP 26% decreaseNo
Netflix KR 18% decreaseMinimal
Netflix FR 5.2% decreaseNo
Netflix CA9.7% decreaseNo
Netflix PT3.7% decreaseNo

Can Surfshark unblock HBO max, Hulu, Disney+, Amazon Prime, etc.?

Surfshark works great with HBO Max, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney+, and other streaming services. We can say this after testing Surfshark with a variety of streaming platforms.

First, we decided to access Amazon Prime with Surfshark. During our test, everything streamed in HD quality, and we did not encounter any errors whatsoever while connected to the US Chicago server. However, we had to switch 5-6 servers before, trying our luck with the Chicago server that worked with Amazon Prime US.

surfshark-unblocked-amazon-prime-video

Surfshark managed to unblock the US Amazon Prime Video library easily.

We then tried accessing Hulu with Surfshark. During our testing, pretty much every US server we connected to easily managed to unblock Hulu. As for picture quality, we managed to stream multiple shows in HD quality. You can see us accessing Hulu with Surfshark’s Dallas server below:

surfshark-unblocked-hulu

We could enjoy all popular Hulu content without any buffering.

Finally, we tested Surfshark with Disney+ and got the best performance with its New York server. Again, all the content we streamed on Disney+ played in 1080p HD quality.

surfshark-unblocked-disney+

We did not face any issues while streaming Disney+ with Surfshark.

Apart from Netflix, other popular streaming services, which include BBC iPlayer, Crackle, and HBO Max with Surfsharkwere also accessible in 1080p HD quality with Surfshark. It is also the Best VPN for Colorado Sports as you can watch Colorado Sports anywhere using Surfshark Denver server.

In short, we had no issue unblocking sites with Surfshark. However, it did act up when we tried to unblock Hotstar. We had to connect to its Indian locations from time to time, and it finally unblocked on our 7th attempt. The speeds were extremely slow during testing, and there was a lot of buffering. It could be due to the distance, but the video kept buffering and was unwatchable.

Get Surfshark for Streaming30 Days Money-Back Guarantee

Speed – How Fast is Surfshark for Online Activities? ⭐8.5

Surfshark is fast enough for different online activities. While testing, we didn’t face any problems in regular use and could stream in HD, download heavy files, and browse the internet without any hindrances. In fact, Surfshark turned out to be faster than most VPNs we tested. And so, it gets an 8.5/10 in speed.

Surfshark has enhanced its speeds since we last reviewed it. When we tested it by connecting to its OpenVPN protocol, we got a speed 0f 78+ Mbps on the US server and 75+ Mbps on its UK server on our 100 Mbps connection, which didn’t seem quite up to par.

However, we witnessed a gradual surge in speed after connecting to its WireGuard protocol during our Surfshark speed review. On its US server, the VPN delivered 80+ Mbps speeds and 78+ Mbps on its UK server. These speeds were stable and consistent every time we connected to the protocol.

Overall, we didn’t face extreme slowdowns on any server. We further conducted a Surfshark speed review on its long-distance and nearby servers. Let’s check out the results below:

Local Servers Speed

For local speeds, we tested Surfshark’s speeds on nearby servers. We did expect some speed loss because our data naturally had to travel to the server. But since it was near our location, the speed drop was significantly less.

First, we started with the US servers. It took us 18 seconds to connect with the US – New York server. The download speed that we managed to get on the New York server was 84.09 Mbps, and the upload speed was 78.51 Mbps. Keeping all the biases aside, the speeds are indeed great for indulging in smooth online activities.

United States (New York): 

Download/UploadSpeedsDrop
Download Speed (Mbps)84.09 Mbps16% decrease
Upload Speed (Mbps)78.51 Mbps22% decrease
Pings (ms)29

We then connected to the LA server of Surfshark, which took about 20 seconds to connect, and gave off a download speed of 83.21 Mbps and an upload speed of 61.24 Mbps on a 100 Mbps connection.

United States (Los Angeles): 

Download/UploadSpeedsDrop
Download Speed (Mbps)83.21 Mbps17% decrease
Upload Speed (Mbps)61.24 Mbps39% decrease
Pings (ms)67

We also decided to test the Canada server speed as it’s near our location. On its Canada – Toronto server, we had similar results with low pings:

Canada (Toronto): 

Download/UploadSpeedsDrop
Download Speed (Mbps)82.72 Mbps18% decrease
Upload Speed (Mbps)75.50 Mbps25% decrease
Pings (ms)49

Long Distance Server Speed

Using Surfshark’s “Fastest Server” option, we connected to a server in Valencia, Spain, and experienced a slight slowdown in speeds. This speed drop was significant as compared to the nearby servers but still pretty decent.

Spain (Valencia):

Download/UploadSpeedsDrop
Download Speed (Mbps)68.09 Mbps32% decrease
Upload Speed (Mbps)50.61 Mbps50% decrease
Pings (ms)143

We then connected to its Portugal – Lisbon server and got a download speed of 69.26 Mbps and an upload speed of 72.72 Mbps on our connection of 100 Mbps connection. Since the upload speeds were faster, these servers proved to be a reliable option for gaming.

Portugal (Lisbon): 

Download/UploadSpeedsDrop
Download Speed (Mbps)38.05 Mbps52.5% decrease
Upload Speed (Mbps)93.07 Mbps5.3% decrease
Pings (ms)43

Even with very slow speeds, it didn’t affect the performance we prepared ourselves for. For example, we could stream Netflix without any major buffering or lags, and browsing was also fast. So, with local servers, you won’t have any problems with Surfshark.

Just check out the table below for an overview:

Server locationDownload speedUpload speedPings
Australia – Perth75 Mbps53.25 Mbps132 ms
Canada – Toronto82.72 Mbps75.50 Mbps49 ms
Germany – Frankfurt83.67 Mbps42.5 Mbps117 ms
Hong Kong85.67 Mbps63.25 Mbps264 ms
India75.16 Mbps53 Mbps211 ms
Italy – Milan85.91 Mbps75.67 Mbps263 ms
The United Kingdom – London83.91 Mbps71.09 Mbps139 ms
The United States – New York84.09 Mbps78.51 Mbps29 ms
United Arab Emirates74.92 Mbps61.75234 ms

Is Surfshark Fast Enough for Gaming?

Yes, Surfshark is fast enough for gaming. And not only do we think it’s good for gaming, but we believe it’s one of the best gaming VPNs. Thanks to its super-fast speeds and extensive network of servers, you don’t have to worry about delays.

During testing, some servers gave us error messages and took a long time to load. But, when we used the “Fastest Server” feature, the speeds were great as compared to the manual selection of servers closer to our actual location. For example, on long-distance servers like Australia, we experienced noticeable lags.

We tested Surfshark based on different servers’ download speeds, upload speeds, and ping.

  • Download speed is how fast you receive data. A fast download speed will give you more time to respond when another player attacks you.
  • Upload speed is how fast you send data. Fast upload speed means you will have more time to attack the other player.
  • Ping is also called latency. It measures the time it takes for the data to reach its destination. The higher the pings, the more lag you will have during gaming.

For smooth gaming, it’s best to have a download speed of at least 15 Mbps, an upload speed of at least 1 Mbps, and the lowest pings possible. At first, we used its Fastest Server feature, and it connected us to a Canadian server.

After loading Overwatch, it connected us to its Europe server. The game lagged initially, but it ran pretty smoothly after a few minutes. We did face minor hiccups at the beginning, and we could play it without interruptions.

We then tried connecting to Surfshark’s Singapore server to test its performance. It gave a decent speed (36.21 Mbps), considering it was a long-distance server. However, during testing, Surfshark reduced pings when we tried its Singapore server. 

low-pings-while-playing-overwatch-with-surfshark

The speeds looked pretty great as well.

However, we experienced connectivity issues on Australian servers as we could not load the game. We tried multiple times and received the following error message, and even after waiting 10 minutes, it wouldn’t load.

 Game Server Connection Failed… Retrying.  

This error could be due to an issue with the game at the time, but it worked perfectly fine on other servers like Singapore. We could easily play Overwatch with VPN on the long-distance server (We tested the Singapore server as it gave me the lowest pings at 48 ms).

playing-overwatch-with-surfshark-singapore-server

We chose to play Overwatch with Surfshark, with very low pings.

We then tested the gaming speed on the Singapore server because we wanted to test servers in Asia, as they have always given me high download speeds and lower pings – a perfect combo for gaming.

Honestly, we would personally recommend using ExpressVPN for gaming because it offers better speeds (you can check our ExpressVPN speed test results), and it has more server locations (in 94+ countries).


Surfshark Server Network

Surfshark has over 3200 servers in 100 countries. It is not bad, but if you compare it with other VPNs like Private Internet Access (which has over 35000+ servers in 80 countries, then this isn’t a huge network.

On the plus side, you get P2P support on its entire server network. While this makes it easy to access torrent sites, you can also take help from its MultiHop servers, which add another layer of encryption to your regular server for extra protection.

Most of Surfshark’s servers are located in the United States, spread out across 25 cities. Meaning, Surfshark is a great option for users who want to unblock American streaming sites and bypass geo-blocks. Apart from the US, Surfshark also has a big server network in Europe with multiple servers in all major countries like the UK, France, Germany, Spain, and France.

Surfshark also offers physical and virtual servers in countries with heavy internet censorship, like Turkey and Vietnam. So, if you’re traveling outside these countries, you can connect to Surfshark’s server in those regions and access your local banking site.

Virtual Server Locations

Surfshark has virtual servers in countries with high political instability and rigid internet restrictions, where VPNs can’t operate directly. In countries like Chile, Costa Rica, and Argentina, Surfshark has set up virtual servers that connect users to the physical servers located outside that region.

Each virtual location in Surfshark’s app is marked with a ‘v.’ However, keep in mind that virtual locations might result in higher pings because to establish the connection, your data has to travel to a physical server that is outside your region. It took us some time to connect to the Chile server during testing.

surfshark-virtual-servers

Surfshark’s virtual locations help you bypass censorship but can lead to higher pings.

Surfshark’s Static IP Address

Surfshark also offers static servers that give you the same IP address every time you connect. These servers are located in 6 countries: Singapore, Germany, Japan, the US, the UK, and the Netherlands.

This is very convenient when you instantly want a connection and don’t want to complete the CAPTCHA code every time you log in to your banking apps. We tested the same static IP server and were asked to confirm our identity during the first login attempt on our banking app.

What’s best is that these static IP servers are P2P friendly, so you can use Surfshark for torrent and also choose from MultiHop servers for extra protection.


Security – How Secure is Surfshark? ⭐10.0

Surfshark is a very secure VPN service. It offers two of the most secure protocols: WireGuard and OpenVPN. It doesn’t keep any logs and only needs your email ID to create an account. In addition, it’s headquartered in the Netherlands, which is beneficial for all users’ privacy.

If you go through the features list of Surfshark, you’ll see that this provider offers unbreakable AES 256-bit encryption, leak protection, and Kill Switch, along with additional features to keep you safe and secure.

No, if you’re wondering, ‘Is Surfshark safe,’ then let’s look at all its features in detail below to answer the question:

Military-Grade Encryption

Surfshark relies on AES-256, Advanced Encryption Standard (sometimes also referred to as Rijndael algorithm), to encrypt all the data that goes through the network to and from your device. This is the same encryption standard that the militaries and governments use.

This encryption standard is responsible for providing you DNS and IPv6 leak protection so that neither your Internet Service Provider nor any third-party entity can see your personal activity or data.

RAM-Only Servers

Unlike other premium VPNs, Surfshark has 100% RAM-only servers that are diskless and automatically wipe all data the moment you switch off the VPN. This is the best feature a VPN can offer because it prevents breaches and attacks from third parties. Thus giving you an additional layer of privacy.

Security Protocols

Regarding protocols, currently, it offers three different protocols for the VPN service connection, which is very useful in case Surfshark displays connection issues.

  1. IKEv2: This protocol works best when you connect to a nearby server. During testing, it also gave decent speeds on long-distance servers. It comes with an auto-connect feature which makes it a great choice for mobile phone users. IKEv2 is available on Windows, iOS, Android, macOS, and FireTV Surfshark apps.
  2. OpenVPN: OpenVPN is a popular choice among security professionals because it is one of the most secure protocols available. It has two versions, UDP and TCP. UDP is faster and ideal for gaming, streaming, and video calls. TCP, on the other hand, is a bit slower.
  3. WireGuard: First released in 2016, this protocol is similar to OpenVPN in terms of being Open Source. It uses state-of-the-art cryptographic technology, which makes it faster, more stable, and 4 times faster than OpenVPN. Surfshark offers this protocol for Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS device applications only.
surfshark-protocols

Using these protocols, you can be secure while accessing your favorite platforms.

While OpenVPN would be a preferred choice for speed and reliability, and one can say it is the top choice for selecting the connection protocol, WireGuard is slowly advancing toward becoming the next big thing.

It is expected that more and more VPN providers will switch to WireGuard connection protocol in the future. For a more in-depth comparison, do check out our WireGuard vs. OpenVPN comparison.

We tested speeds on these protocols to see which one was faster. During testing, OpenVPN (UDP) gave extremely slow speeds as compared to IKEv2 and WireGuard.

surfshark-speed-on-different-protocols

We tested speeds on 10 different servers using 3 different Surfshark protocols to give you a rough idea about each VPN protocol’s speed and performance.

On OpenVPN, our average speed was 46% slower than IKEv2. Meaning if you have heavy internet usage, it’s best to choose IKEv2 as it is the fastest. You can also select the automatic protocol option, and Surfshark will automatically choose the best protocol based on your need.

The dedicated desktop app of Surfshark packs in three VPN service protocols, IKEv2, WireGuard, and OpenVPN, with a TCP and UDP variation.

Leak Test Results

We tested 10 Surfshark servers (including servers in the UK, US, France, and Italy) and found no DNS, IP, or WebRTC leak.

DNS leak protection is mandatory as it ensures that your data is being routed via Surfshark’s DNS servers instead of your Internet Service Provider’s DNS servers. Similarly, IPv6 leak protection ensures that the network’s IPv6 is not leaking your real location.

Surfshark offers private DNS and IP leak protection on all its servers when using the IPv4 stack. It is the most common type of IP, while IPv6 is the newer format.

We also checked through customer support, and they confirmed that Surfshark doesn’t support IPv6, so that you could experience some leaks. But during testing, we experienced no leaks. 

surfshark-has-no-ipv6-support

Surfshark doesn’t offer IPV6 support, so users better stick to IPv4 with this VPN.

You can disable IPv6 on your devices, but it might cause some apps to not work properly. This is very crucial as Surfshark is a top VPN because, with premium VPNs like ExpressVPN, you don’t have to worry about IPv6 or IPv4.

Before we could trust our privacy with Surfshark, we decided to take some leak tests using IPleak.net. Here’s how Surfshark performed in our leak test:

Surfshark-ip-leak-test

Surfshark passed all the leak tests when we connected to its US server location.

We were satisfied with the results as neither our DNS nor IPv6 leaked after connecting to Surfshark. We recommend checking your connection to make sure it is secure.

Automatic Kill Switch

Surfshark comes with a built-in Kill Switch feature that prevents your online activity from leaking if your VPN service suddenly stops working. This feature is so smart; it automatically kills your internet whenever you lose connection with the VPN server.

In case of any VPN connectivity issues, it will deactivate your internet connection and reactivate it automatically. This way, no information will be leaked in case of any sudden connection drops.

enable-your-surfshark-kill-switch

This feature will ensure no leak of your online activities.

We tested out this feature by downloading a torrent file and then disconnecting from the VPN server midway. As soon as we disconnected from the VPN server, Surfshark automatically disabled our internet connection.

MultiHop Servers

Using Surfshark’s MultiHop servers, you can establish a VPN chain and take IP masking to the next level. For instance, you can connect to Surfshark’s servers in the US and Netherlands simultaneously and virtually appear in two different locations. It sends your traffic through two server locations instead of one, which is amazing.

However, when tested, its MultiHop servers slowed down our speeds significantly as compared to the regular servers. That’s reasonable, as your traffic passes through 2 servers that are in 2 locations.

surfshark-speed-on-multihop-servers

As you can see, the pings are also higher on the MultiHop servers.

Camouflage Mode

This mode makes your encrypted traffic look like regular traffic under deep packet inspection (DPI) so that nobody can see you’re using a VPN. It is a convenient feature to use if you connect behind a strict firewall or an Internet Service Provider that restricts VPN usage.

We tested this feature on public Wi-Fi in a library, and it instantly unblocked Netflix and Disney+ without any hiccups. You don’t have to manually enable the Camouflage mode, as it is automatically enabled when you connect to the OpenVPN protocol. OpenVPN is available on Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, and Linux.

NoBorders Mode

NoBorder is an exclusive feature of Surfshark designed for countries with strict regulations against VPN usage and heavy online censorship (think China, for example). As soon as the NoBorder feature detects the situation mentioned above, it will present you with a special list of servers that you can connect to.

enable-the-surfshark-noborders-mode

Surfshark’s NoBorder mode to bypass heavy internet restrictions and censorship in regions like China or UAE.

2FA

Surfshark also offers a 2FA feature, also known as Two-Factor Authentication. It adds an additional layer of security to your Surfshark account. To enable 2FA on Surfshark, you must open its official site on your browser and log in using your credentials.

Then, go to “Account Settings” and click “Turn on 2FA.” After that, you can either set it up with your email ID or an authentication app like Google Authenticator.

We chose the Google Authenticator method because it is super private and is also recommended by Surfshark. You must download the Google Authenticator app from Google Play Store or App Store if you use an iOS device.

Then, just scan the QR code, and it will register your site. Now, every time you log in, you will need to enter the code from the authenticator app. But remember, the code is only valid for 30 seconds. After that, it generates a newer one.

CleanWeb

CleanWeb is a built-in feature of Surfshark VPN that blocks ads, trackers, and malware. We particularly love this feature because it actively blocks annoying advertisements. Here’s a screenshot that we took for our Surfshark CleanWeb review:

testing-surfshark-cleanweb-feature

The feature was quite effective for different websites in our Surfshark CleanWeb review.

To enable the CleanWeb feature on Surfshark’s extension, simply click on the feature and enable it. It is handy as you won’t have to see intrusive ads when browsing online anymore.  It also detects malicious websites and phishing scams to protect your device.

GPS Spoofing on Android

Apps and websites use GPS to locate users instead of using IP addresses. This way, advertisers target you with ads. However, it is an issue when it comes to the online privacy of users, and unfortunately, a VPN is not enough. But, Surfshark has solved this problem by offering a GPS Spoofing feature.

This feature hides both your IP address and GPS location making it look like you are physically located in the same place as the server location. Therefore, no apps can track your whereabouts. However, this feature is only available on Android. To enable it, you can select the “Override GPS Location” feature under the advanced settings.

We tested this feature by connecting to its Chicago server. After enabling the feature, we went to Google Maps, and it showed our location near Willis Tower in Chicago when physically our team was present in the UK at that time. However, you cannot use it on games like Pokemon Go because then it won’t be able to load any PokeStops, and the game needs your location.

Other features

Besides the features mentioned above, Surfshark also offers tons of cool in-app features for its users, as per our Surfshark review. Here are some notable ones:

  • Whitelister: As the name suggests, Whitelister is a split tunneling feature that allows you to custom-exclude specific apps or websites from connecting via a VPN. This feature is great if you prefer securing certain sensitive apps and websites while excluding other apps that you might use for streaming and general browsing.
  • Device Invisibility: With Surfshark, you can also make your VPN-enabled devices invisible to other devices that are on the same network. This feature offers an extra layer of privacy and is best when you are using public Wi-Fi and don’t want to be visible to others. Unfortunately, this feature is only available in Surfshark apps for Windows and Android.
  • Privacy Beyond VPN: This is a bundled add-on offered by Surfshark with additional costs on its basic subscription deal. It has two features, including Surfshark Search, which lets you privately search without any ads or trackers, and Surfshark Alert, which notifies users immediately if their information is found in leaked databases.
  • Trust DNS: Surfshark also offers a free Trust DNS app that lets you change your DNS address for free. What’s best is that you can choose from 100+ public DNS servers and access websites that are blocked at the DNS level and even hide your online activity from your ISP. It is only available on Android and iOS apps.

Privacy ⭐10.0

Surfshark is packed with privacy features. The VPN keeps no logs and secures users’ data during the entire session. Because of its no-logs policy Surfshark VPN is also one of the logless VPN following ExpressVPN in the list. Above all, it uses RAM-only servers to wipe all your data after every session leaving no traces behind.

It has an open privacy policy documentation available on the webpage that discusses all important practices clearly. We appreciate their commitment to quality service and effort to communicate transparency. Overall, we are satisfied and impressed with the level of privacy Surfshark offers to its users, unlike many premium VPN services.

In this heading, we will be looking directly into the relationship between your privacy and Surshark, how Surshark honors it accordingly, and what is a Warrant Canary.

Strict No-Logs Policy

Surfshark doesn’t keep logs and strictly follows the concept of no data logging. If you go through Surfshark’s privacy policy, the provider mentions that it does not log the following information:

  • IP addresses
  • Browsing history
  • Session information
  • Used bandwidth
  • Connection timestamps
  • Network traffic and other similar data
surfshark-no-logs-policy

Surfshark clearly mentions that it doesn’t collect any identifiable user information, answering your ‘Is Surfshark safe’ query.

This is seriously impressive because Surfshark only collects emails, encrypted passwords, billing information, and order history. This is pretty standard and cannot pose a threat to user privacy. Surfshark also won the Security Software Company of the Year Award at the 17th Annual 2021 Cybersecurity Global Excellence awards held on June 1st.

Location — Outside the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliance

Surfshark is headquartered in the Netherlands, which is, unfortunately, a member of the 5 Eyes, 9 Eyes, and 14 Eyes Alliance. Now, this can be a bit unsettling for all Surfshark users. That is why the VPN clearly mentions in its privacy policy that despite its headquarters in the Netherlands, the VPN does not store any user logs. You can confirm more through the image below:

surfshark-privacy-policy

This means that the VPN won’t collect any data of its users.

Warrant Canary

If you don’t know, a warrant canary is basically a small document informing customers of National Security Letters, Gag Orders, and Warrants that the provider has received to date. Impressively, Surfshark has not received any subpoena or orders to disclose customer information as of October 2022:

  • National Security letters;
  • Gag orders;
  • Warrants from a government organization.
surfshark-warrant-canary

Even in the case of a subpoena, Surfshark will have no data to give due to its zero-log policy.

Independent Audits

To make its service more transparent and secure, Surfshark conducted independent audits of its service twice through a German cybersecurity organization called Cure53 in 2018 and 2021. In the 2021 audit, the organization extensively checked its server infrastructure and highlighted flaws that were immediately fixed by Surfshark.

The initiative taken by Surfshark is highly commendable, as not every VPN service submits its apps for autonomous inspection. Therefore, having third-party audits of logging policy is common among top premium VPN services. There is no issue with Surfshark’s privacy policy, but an audit is needed as proof of their claims.

Torrenting

Torrenting is not the main function of Surfshark, but it can be used for this purpose. All of the Surfshark servers are P2P-optimized and support torrenting. It allows users to pay for this service through cryptocurrency for additional security.

Surfshark connects you to the nearest P2P server available immediately after you set a torrent client, such as BitTorrent or uTorrent, etc., as opposed to other VPNs that require manual selection of torrenting servers.

We wanted to test this feature myself, so we connected to the Italy server (not P2P optimized) and ran leak tests using IPleak.net, and saw that my IP and DNS locations were set to Milan, Italy. After opening uTorrent, we rechecked our IP and DNS locations and found that our IP was still the same, but our DNS was set to the Netherlands, which is optimized for P2P.

surfshark-torrent-automatic-server-selection

Surfshark automatically connects you to a P2P server when you open a Torrent client like uTorrent.

However, we noticed that this automatic server switch gave us slower download speeds than when we manually selected P2P servers. For example, on local P2P optimized servers, our average speed was 62.17 Mbps, and the file was downloaded within 12 minutes. On the Italy server, my speed was 32.5 Mbps, and it took 23 minutes for the file to download.

Get Surfshark for Torrenting30 Days Money-Back Guarantee

Does Surfshark Work in China?

Yes, Surfshark is among the best VPN for China that really works. In fact, its servers in Hong Kong managed to unblock almost any Chinese content we tried to access.

Surfshark manages to do this because it uses a mix of both physical and virtual servers. So, for example, even if Surfshark VPN doesn’t offer a physical server in Albania, its virtual server location can still give you access to all regional content available in Albania.

This is exactly how Surfshark’s Hong Kong server compensates for the nonexistent Chinese server. Using its Hong Kong server, you can easily unblock Instagram in China, Google Meet, and Snapchat in China.

If you are having issues downloading Surfshark in China, you can set it up manually, which works all the time. Customer support is also available if you need help setting it up on your device.

surfshark-works-in-china

If you cannot seem to use Surfshark in China, you can contact customer support and set it up manually.

Surfshark uses NoBorders Mode and Camouflage Mode, which are made to bypass the Great Firewall of China. The Camouflage Mode hides your VPN traffic and makes it look like normal traffic so you can bypass VPN blocks imposed by ISPs.

Similarly, the NoBorders Mode detects VPN-blocking technology and firewalls and helps select obfuscated servers so you can get unrestricted access to the internet.

Get Surfshark in China30 Days Money-Back Guarantee

Installation & Apps ⭐10.0

Surfshark apps are interactive, user-friendly, convenient, and intuitive. The clean layout and well-designed interface make it easy for beginners to use the features. The app supports around 15 different languages to assist customers worldwide, including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, etc.

Moreover, the main functionality for all platforms is the same for Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS. This way, you don’t need to follow 4 different procedures to configure it on different devices. Similarly it is easy to setup Surfshark on Firestick and install Surfshark on Apple tv, users find really convenient setting up the VPN on these devices.

We liked the brief description of the features and settings explaining their purpose and usage. Above all, you can save your favorite servers to use later.

When testing, we could not find server information like ping time, server load, and more. After contacting customer support, we found out that to view individual server information, you need to disconnect from the VPN. This is very helpful as you can choose the fastest server with lower pings.

Surfshark-server-infromation

View server load and pings of the individual server location to choose the best server.

Simultaneous Device Connections — Unlimited

Surfshark is the best VPN for multiple devices as it offers unlimited simultaneous connections to users. Due to this, the VPN allows you to connect as many devices as you want with a single Surfshark subscription. This is a great value for money because most VPNs restrict device connection between 5-10. This feature makes it a great choice for large families.

What’s best about Surfshark is that you can connect different kinds of devices with it simultaneously, and you will not experience any effect on the performance.

We tested the performance by configuring Surfshark on our router and connected it to our laptop, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, and desktop computer. We did not see any change in the performance.

Compatibility ⭐9.0

Surfshark is compatible with nearly all major operating systems, offering native apps for Mac, iOS, Windows, Linux, Android, and Fire Devices. While navigating through its apps, we found that the interface had high similarity for all major platforms.

Despite slight differences in interface, most of the features are the same for all systems. However, the Windows and Android apps have additional features like device invisibility and Whitelister. On Apple devices, you can view ping and load time against each server, whereas on Android and Windows, you can manually load it.

Surfshark apps are also available for Linux’s Debian and Ubuntu. The Linux app has very basic features without any advanced functionalities or settings. Some of the features can be added manually to the Linux versions.

surfshark-ios-app-user-interface-and-hands-on-experience

Desktop Apps

Surfshark’s Windows app is straightforward. We have tested Surfshark on Windows and it has proven itself the best Windows 10 VPN, but if you are interested in installing the best Mac VPN, you can do that too. The app displays a Connect button, current server status details, and a menu with server locations.

The static IP list in Surfshark allows you to connect to servers in Singapore, the UK, Japan, US, and Germany to set a fixed IP address from a country of your choice on every connection.

Both the Windows and Mac apps have the Whitelister, MultiHop feature, and kill switch. With a few improvements, the functionality of the Windows app can be enhanced for users.

Mobile Apps

Surfshark mobile apps have a very user-friendly and impressive interface. They are both feature-rich and super functional.

The apps have a clean and easy-to-use interface. The Dark Mode option makes the graphics fun and pleasing to use. While testing, we found the Android app to be very similar to the Windows app. The interface and list of server locations are identical. Both have the same features, like split-tunneling, MultiHop, blocking, and whitelisting.

Mobile users can utilize several support protocols like OpenVPN/IVEv2 and WireGuard that you get in desktop versions. However, it is disappointing to notice that Shadowsocks has been dropped.

Surfshark’s Android app can optimize your mobile network performance by automatically connecting to the VPN and selecting from numerous encryption methods.

On top of this, you can send bug reports, raise a ticket, or explore support queries in case of any issues without contacting the main support team directly.

Overall, Surfshark is designed with newbies in mind.


Pricing – How Much Does Surfshark Cost? ⭐10.0

Thinking, ‘Is Surfshark free?’ Well, no. But here is a list of all Surfshark budget-friendly pricing plans:

Surfshark PricePlan DurationDiscount
$12.95/mo1-monthNo discount
$3.99/mo12-month69% discount
$2.05/mo 24-month81% discount

The basic monthly subscription price, which is $12.95 per month, can seem quite expensive than the other VPN provider. If you purchase its annual subscription in one go, then the price comes down to $3.99 per month – still pricey – but if you go for the two-year subscription, then that’s where Surfshark beats many of its competitors with a meager with its super budget friendly VPN deals and price of just $2.05/mo . Apart from these unbelievably low prices, you can also get it for much cheaper on the Black Friday deal.

If we talk about payment methods, you can purchase a subscription for Surfshark through:

  • Credit cards
  • PayPal
  • Google Pay
  • Amazon Pay
  • Cryptocurrency (i.e., Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Ripple).

Surfshark Refund Policy

Surfshark offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it out for 30 days free of cost and cancel it to get a refund. It does, however, come with exceptions. Users who have signed up for the VPN via App Store, Amazon, or iTunes cannot get a refund. The same goes for gift card payments. In such cases, the user will have to contact the specific store for a refund.

One great policy of Surfshark is that, unlike most paid VPNs, Surfshark also refunds payments made with cryptocurrency. Users who paid for Surfshark with cryptocurrency will be given an equivalent amount in US dollars based on the change rate at the refund time.

During testing, we got a confirmation email regarding cancellation within 2 hours, and the refund was received on the 8th day. Therefore, Surfshark’s refund policy is pretty good.

We hope this answers your ‘Is Surfshark free’ query. It is not completely free but Surfshark offers free trial for 7 days on macOS, Android, and iOS devices. For more information about Surfshark refunds, check out this article on canceling a Surfshark subscription.

Try Surfshark Risk-Free for 30 Days30 Days Money-Back Guarantee

Surfshark Reliability & Customer Support ⭐9.0

Surfshark offers feature-rich apps for most operating systems. The entire time we tested its apps for various operating systems, we didn’t notice any crashes. But if any of Surfshark’s apps fail to work properly, try the tips mentioned in this Surfshark not working article.

Surfshark’s customer support is quick and helpful. You can not only contact their support team through live chat, but you can also get help through email support. Moreover, their customer support representatives are responsive and knowledgeable.

For our Surfshark review, we asked their support agent a simple question and immediately got a response back within seconds:

surfshark-live-chat-testing

The answer that we got was quite informative.

Aside from that, Surfshark has a detailed Help section on its website where you can find troubleshooting guides, installation tutorials for popular devices, and helpful FAQs.

Moreover, their email support is as efficient as we got an immediate response from Surfshark’s team within 5 minutes. Nonetheless, it’s not the same thing as live chat support.

Get Surfshark NOW!30 Days Money-Back Guarantee

Redditors’ Opinion about Surfshark

If you head over to Reddit for Surfshark reviews, you will also find multiple users praising this service for delivering world-class services in a feature-rich product. Let’s take a look at a Reddit review left by one of their satisfied users:

surfshark-reddit-review

While using Surfshark with streaming platforms, a Reddit user mentioned:

surfshark-reddit-review-2

Naturally, amongst Surfshark reviews on Reddit, some users also left some negative remarks. A user faced issues after updating Surfshark’s app:

surfshark-reddit-review-3


FAQs – Surfshark Review

Yes, Surfshark is an exceptional VPN service as it allows unlimited device connection and provides rarely seen split tunneling and MultiHop features. Not to mention, it ensures a no-logs service with transparent privacy policies and RAM-only servers.

Yes, Surfshark can be trusted as it is one of the safest VPN services. It offers an audited no-logs policy and lets users choose encryption standards and security protocols as per their preference. It also secures passwords are secured with an advanced hash function, which makes cracking your credentials impossible.

Yes, Surfshark offers a 7-day free trial for macOS, Android, and iOS devices. Or you can get it on any other platform using its 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re unhappy with the service, you can claim a refund within 30 days of your purchase.

You can use as many devices as you want with Surfshark. One best part about Surfshark is that, unlike most premium VPNs, it allows unlimited simultaneous connections, so you can use Surfshark on as many devices as you want.

No, Surfshark is registered legally in the Netherlands. The country has no data retention laws. Therefore, the VPN is under no obligation to store the data of users. The same goes for connection and usage logs.

Yes, Surfshark offers native apps for FireStick devices, including FireTV. You can directly download it from the Amazon App Store.

Moreover, Surfshark doesn’t offer native apps for Smart TVs and Apple TVs. You can either use its Smart DNS feature to unblock streaming sites, or you can set up Surfshark on your router and use it on your Smart TVs.

Surfshark is a good VPN for streaming Netflix. To review Surfshark to its fullest, we put the VPN through a lengthy testing process. As per our latest streaming tests, Surfshark unblocked 10+ Netflix regions consistently while offering minimal buffering and fast speeds.

Surfshark is better than NordVPN due to its super-affordable cost, excellent streaming capabilities, and unlimited simultaneous connections. However, both VPNs were similar regarding their speed performance on IKEv2 and OpenVPN (UDP/TCP) protocols.

Well, ExpressVPN is better than Surfshark due to multiple reasons. That’s because ExpressVPN offers faster speeds, better streaming capabilities, and consistent security features.


Final Verdict – Do We Recommend Surfshark?

Yes, we highly recommend Surfshark after analyzing the key findings in our Surfshark review. There’s a lot that we like about this VPN.

The fact that it offers fast speeds with barely any speed drops is awe-inspiring. We also like that Surfshark works exceptionally well with Netflix and offers 3200+ servers for only $2.05/mo (Get 84% + 2 Months FREE this Black Friday/Cyber Monday).

However, we still wish to see more servers added to the list — especially a dedicated server for China. But considering overall features, pricing, customer support, and trustworthiness, Surfshark is one phenomenal VPN service that thoroughly deserves the 9.5/10 rating.

This concludes our Surfshark review. Get Surfshark now!

Get Surfshark NOW!30 Days Money-Back Guarantee
'Gerald Hunt

Gerald Hunt

Gerald Hunt's Biography :


Gerald is a steadfast believer in the inviolable right of every citizen to freedom of expression. Writing about online privacy and security without any regard for political correctness is his way to counter the instruments threatening our liberty. In his spare time, he loves to binge watch Netflix, anime and play video games.


Posts by Gerald Hunt

51 Responses to Surfshark VPN Review 2022 – VPNRanks

  1. mcdvoice says:

    I’m not particularly picky when it comes to my computer gadgets and software but I have tried a couple of vpns with really horrible app design so surfshark was very easy on the eye when I first saw it. It’s working smooth too so nothing to complain about.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey, I totally agree. Most VPN apps are really frustrating to use. Surfshark is indeed really easy to use. Oh hey, just so you know, they’re running a promotion for a brief period where they’re dropping their subscription price to just $2.21/mo (24 months + 3 months free).

  2. Line says:

    Surfshark is a scam. you pay for two years, you can’t stop the automatic payments. After five months, it stops working, their support can not help you and a refund is not possible. This is a money grab. Stay away from this.

    • Gerald Hunt says:

      Hello Line,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience.

      If you could share with us the nature of your issue then we might be able to guide you accordingly.

      Thank you so much.

  3. Jane says:

    Have been a Surfshark client for about half a year now. I am not a technical person, and have not used a VPN before. However, what I mostly enjoy is the simplicity of the app and how it automatically connects when I connect to wifi, which makes my life a lot easier! Also I appreciate the CleanWeb feature which makes me feel protected from various malicious ads, so at the moment Surfshark fully fulfills my needs.

    • Gerald Hunt says:

      Hi Jane,
      Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
      We are happy to know that Surfshark is working quite well for you.

  4. Bubba Ulgy says:

    I have been using surfshark for over 6 months. I just discovered when the App has an update available and you do not update within hours, it will update itself and leave you unprotected. After it auto-updates it does not remember you username or password and leaves your computer unprotected. After I logged in I also found the kill switch off. Do not use this VPN unattended as when an update is available you will wake up to an unprotected computer! This is serious flaw in the program.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Thanks for pointing it out. We recommend updating the app under your supervision. Leaving any app on auto-update is never recommended.

  5. NN says:

    I am writing to confirm that the 30-day-money-back-guaratee works flawlessly.
    Amazing service. I am super happy with the service and support of surfshark.
    I tried surfshark for about a week. I used it mainly for torrenting. Downloading worked perfectly – fast speeds, many connections, no issues. Uploading didn’t work well – few incomming connections, very rare seeding events. After I checked with surfshark it turned out that surfshark does not support opening/forwarding ports and without opened ports seeding is very limited but possible.
    I demanded a refund using the 30-day-money-back guarantee and I was refunded THE SAME DAY.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Thank you for your feedbac. We are hopeful that you will soon find the best suitable VPN for your need. Best of luck! Stay Safe and Secure!

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Thank you for your feedback. We are hopeful that you will soon find the best suitable VPN for your need. Best of luck! Stay Safe and Secure!

  6. Christos says:

    I bought a monthly subscription to explore the product(Surfshark ltd…Cyprus…Invoice number:SHARK ..17 ..).I kept it installed for about 2 hours and then I canceled it and asked for a refund,if it happens of course(I was told that the refund will be made in 14(?)days).During these two hours, it is an achievement that Surfshark was connected twice while the rest of the time it had constant disconnections,instability,crashes and pop-ups to contact support.
    Is Surfshark really 3rd in the world rankings?
    Unfortunately Surfshark is for laughs and for crying.
    I quote two points.
    Surfshark survives(for how long?)thanks to the generous subsidies of some websites for favorable reviews.
    Surfshark is undoubtedly not located in BVI but somewhere else but that concerns others.
    What concerns me,but also all of us,I think,is whether Surfshark protects the privacy and sensitive personal data of users.
    I hope that my review will be published for the sake of the truth.

    • Gerald Hunt says:

      Hello Christos,

      Thank you for your feedback.

      We are extremely sorry to hear about your bad experience with Surfshark.

  7. James says:

    Surfshark isn’t as transparent and secure as they would lead you to believe. First, the kill switch function is flawed. When the kill switch is activated and the VPN disconnected, TOR can connect with no difficulty. This makes me wonder how many other apps can bypass the kill switch? Second, you can tell Surfshark where to connect, but it often connects to the fastest server available to you. I have screenshots of ipleak.net with the surfshark app sitting on top. I’m not connected to the server displayed on the Surfshark app and it’s verfied by ipleak.net.
    As for refunds? Mine was simple and FAST. I first presented the evidence of security issues with Surfshark, then asked for a refund. Paypal notified me of the refund 57 minutes later.

  8. Toby says:

    Can’t say that I have a lot of knowledge about VPNs and security, but I try my best to keep up and improve. I decided to try out Surfshark after I read that it was user-friendly, because that’s what’s important for a newbie like me obviously. I was quite happy with their performance. Recently, I was torrenting “Once upon a time in Hollywood,” and the movie was downloaded in a couple of minutes, not sure if this should be faster, but it was pretty close to what I used to get without a VPN.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey Toby, glad to hear you’re enjoying Surfshark. It is indeed the fastest VPN we’ve ever tested. If you torrent quite often, you might also enjoy using Ivacy VPN.

  9. Lester Farkas says:

    A few thoughts about Surfshark. I’ve used SS extensively for the last two weeks, and have found a couple of flaws that, while not deal-breaking, are annoying.
    -Surfshark DOES seem to have regular connectivity issues, and regularly disconnects on my mobile devices, requiring far more attention devoted to ensuring that my VPN is still active than I would like.
    -Despite their claim towards ‘stealth’ service, I constantly find that various websites will recognize that something is not kosher, and attempt to prevent me from logging on. This includes Amazon Prime, Gmail, and several smaller streaming sites. Obviously, this is also after changing the servers and attempting to streamline the process as much as possible.
    -Customer Service is prompt, yes, but useless. I contacted them several times, using multiple different ISPs and contact names to ask a variety of different questions about their service, and was met with a wall of helpless drivel that usually boiled down to, “It’s in Settings”, regardless of the question. I did have ONE seemingly knowledgeable individual help me out, but that was it. Be functional with Reddit before use.
    HOWEVER, despite the occassional frustration that SS can cause through dropped connections, and the like, they still seem tobe the best bang for your buck if you need to connect multiple devices (as I do) simultaneously, with decent speeds, and a multitude of effective servers. I’m not sure that I would recommend it, but I certainly wouldn’t steer anyone away from it either. Simply be aware of what you’re getting into.
    N.B: I have NOT attempted to get a refund from the service, since I am not altogether unhappy with it, so I have no first hand knowledge regarding that. However, I can easily believe other reviewers claims that it is virutally impossible simply based off of the quality – or lack thereof – of their regular customer service.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey Lester,
      You’re absolutely right. Pretty much no VPN I’ve also tried is perfect. Though, I didn’t encounter connectivity issues at my end. As for customer support, some representatives tend to offer better help than others. In my experience, I came across agents who were actually helpful.

  10. dr.danny says:

    I was surprised to find out that VPN can help with lags that I get while gaming on my PlayStation, so I decided to use my Surfshark account on PlayStation, and strangely the speed did improve. I always thought it should slow it down, was I the only one? Also, buying games that are not yet available in my country is a nice hack too.

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey Danny,
      You’re not the only one. I regularly come across users who use VPNs for lag-free gaming. As long as you connect to the right VPN server, you should experience better speeds and performance.

  11. Simon_G says:

    When I started my new job, I started traveling quite a lot. First of all, I had to improve my personal security and then make sure I was able to access websites that may be blocked in some regions (social and gmail). Of course, I use an antivirus (Avast), but your review convinced me to get Surfshark as well. It has been quite helpful to pass all the geo-blocks, and I’ve been using it most of the time I’m connecting to random Wifi. So far, so good

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey Simon,
      Glad to know that you’re enjoying Surfshark. Despite being on the budget side, Surfshark still offers some top-specced features. No wonder you’re able to easily bypass geo-blocks.

  12. Dawn says:

    I got Surfshark after reading your review, with their 30 day money back guarentee. And on the same day as subscribing I cancelled, changing my mind that I needed it, and asked for my refund. They just keep emailing back asking why I want to cancel, and are not giving me the refund, despite me emailing a further twice to them saying I want my refund.
    So, not to be trusted.

  13. Jake says:

    Does it work on a Firestick ? If so, Is there dedicated app ?

    • Abdul Rehman says:

      Hey Jake,

      Yes, Surfshark does work on FireStick. In fact, you can find its dedicated app on the Amazon app store. The good thing about Surfshark is that it is the only VPN app for FireStick with a built-in Kill Switch feature.

  14. Giusepe says:

    After I decided to get a VPN, I was looking for something, which was affordable for a student’s wallet and would be recommended for streaming and torrenting. I decided to try out Surfshark and thought that if I don’t like their services, I can get a refund. I have discovered they have a CleanWeb feature, which prevents ads and tracking, although while using it, a couple of ads did pop-up while I was on Youtube watching videos on my phone. Anyway, as this wasn’t the deal-breaker for me, after using it for half a month, I decided to stick with it since the price was quite low, and all other features worked smooth.

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear Giusepe,
      Thanks for reaching out to us. We can safely you did the right thing eventually by subscribing to Surfshark. The VPN gives you online freedom alongside better streaming speeds to help you watch your desired TV shows or movies from anywhere.
      Apart from affordable pricing, you can get various privacy features like camouflage mode, kill switch, and so on.
      Cheers!!!

  15. Damon says:

    I payed for the 2 year membership because it had a 30day money-back guarantee. I used it for 2 days and it would not download any videos through Kodi (which is the reason I bought it). I switched back to the VPN I had been using and it went back to working fine. I emailed Surfshark and told them I wanted a refund 2 days ago. I received an email wanting me to explain the problem, which I did, and I didn’t get a refund. I sent another email that afternoon and got the exact same message. I replied to that and still haven’t heard anything back. I will now have to contact my credit card to have them do a charge back since this company apparently doesn’t respond to their refund guarantee. I would stay away from this company due to its shady practices. You have been warned!!

    • Surfshark says:

      Hello, Damon. We would like to apologize for this situation on behalf of the Surfshark customer support team. It should be noted that we are deeply concerned about your issue and hope to see you back to our customer support anytime soon. In addition to this, our 30 days money-back guarantee applies to all our customers, so you don’t need to contact your bank as we will issue the refund immediately once you send us an email again. Once again, let us apologize if we misunderstood each other.

  16. Dave Greiman says:

    1. How many many users are allowed per account?
    2. And does it have an App that serves with an iPad?

    • VPNRanks says:

      Hello Dave Greiman,

      1. Surfshark has unlimited simultaneous connections per account.

      2. It offers a dedicated app for iPad.

  17. Steve93 says:

    I’ve been using Surfshark myself, it has a good 4k streaming for Netflix, indeed the connection dropped a couple of times tho as soon as I switched the server managed to watch movies without any more disruptions

    • VPNRanks says:

      Hello Steve93,

      Thanks for sharing your experience with Surfshark with us. We also found this VPN to be one of the best when it comes to Netflix!

  18. kevin says:

    surfshark collects ip addresses from your computer and other devices from websites.
    And collect various error reports. (Metadata Risks)
    When you use our app, we may collect advertising identifiers – unique, user-resettable IDs for advertising, – surfshark privacy policy
    And they also collect cookies.
    This policy is dangerous.

    • VPNRanks says:

      Yes, Surfshark does retain IP address when you visit its website for the first time because it helps them diagnose problems with their server and to display the content according to your preferences. I am not saying that this feature should be recommended in any of the VPN service because a VPN is designed to hide your IP address. To be honest, every user who visits any website will have their IP address compromised. It’s just the matter if this VPN service keeps track of your browsing history? No, they don’t. That brings me to your statement, ‘They collect cookies’. Yes, they do. There’s a simple way to turn off your cookies or you can also warn your computer whenever a website is using cookies. So, technically there’s no threat.
      About Advertising Identifiers, first you should know how Advertising Identifier works. It is only for marketing purposes and doesn’t use your personal information as it’s been already cleared by Surfshark. Still, you can reset your identifier or opt out of personalized ads by adjusting your device settings.
      To your next point that Surfshark collects various error reports. That holds true because then, they would know the aggregated performance data, unsuccessful connection attempts, and other info, but the data collected for diagnostic purposes does not contain uniquely identifiable information. So, Surfshark cannot identify if the users’ name is ‘Kevin’ or ‘John’ and that eliminates the last threat you identified. So, if you ask me if Surfsahrk is dangerous? No, it’s completely safe to use Surfshark VPN.
      Hope that solves your problem? Do let me know there’s still something that clears up. I will be more than happy to help. Cheers!

  19. ValveZ says:

    Very unstable VPN. I have very frequent random disconnections with Surfshark. I thought that my PC’s were causing this problem but later found out that more users had similar issues. Not a single solution provided by the Surfshark or found on the web solved the problem. So I tried free VPN’s like ProtonVPN, Windscribe and OperaVPN and none of them disconnected, not even once, during 1 month period. Other than that they have OK customer support and no DNS leaks.
    Still, I wouldn’t recommend Surfshark. Not until they upgrade their servers and fix a major security problem – instability.

    • Surfshark says:

      Hello, Valvez. Thank you for your honest review, although according to your described issues, Surfshark customer support could be able to assist you 24/7 beyond any doubt. Having said that, we would like to invite you to start the free 7-days trial and test our service again and give us a second chance to solve your problems.

  20. Aaron says:

    Great service bought the $50 deal for 2 years and have been using it for a couple hours now and everything seems to be good I love the extra features that comes with the client too couldn’t ask for anything better also the support takes everything seriously and is fast to answer any questions and concerns or support

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear Aaron,
      Thanks for sending your valuable feedback to us.
      We are glad that you found Surfshark useful and equal to the task.
      Cheers!!!

  21. Jake B says:

    I’m not particularly picky when it comes to my computer gadgets and software but I have tried a couple of vpns with really horrible app design so surfshark was very easy on the eye when I first saw it. It’s working smooth too so nothing to complain about.

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear Jake B,
      Thanks for reaching out to us.
      We are happy that you liked Surfshark app because of its simplicity.
      keep using Surfshark and enjoy online anonymity from anywhere.
      Cheers!!!

  22. Tod says:

    Nice review! You described everything that people need to know about this provider. I am using Surfshark for a few months, and I am happy with the service and what they are offering for their customers. I had a few questions about MultiHop, but customer support helped me immediately.

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear Tod,

      Thanks for reaching out to us.

      We are glad that you found our review helpful. You were able to know about its MultiHop feature through customer support upfront.

      Keep using Surfshark and enjoy online anonymity as per your demands.

      Cheers!!!

  23. Gary says:

    How I know if it has a GDPR policy?

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear Gary,

      Thanks for sending your valuable feedback to us.

      Surfshark is a GDPR compliant VPN as the service has categorically expressed its views about the matter in its privacy policy section.

      Cheers!!!

  24. PwT says:

    I’ve tried most VPN’s but always found them wanting in some way or another. SurfShark has most bases covered, amazingly fast, faster than any other VPN I’ve used! Double hop, connects almost instantly, again the fastest of any VPN. I had problems with an early version of the windows app & they gave me 6 months free added on. Unlimited connections unlike Express with 3, work fine with Netflix on my android TV. Hard to find a negative point. It’s obvious some VPN’s pay for getting to the top on so called reviews. For me SurfShark is the best I’ve tried.

    • Usman Hayat says:

      Dear PwT,

      Thanks for reaching out to us…

      We are glad that you liked Surfshark. Keep using the service and enjoy online anonymity from anywhere.

      Cheers!!!

  25. Roman says:

    Hello

    Do not buy it. I had installed software on 3 PCs, notebook and android and all starts to have problems with internet, network… even if surfshark is not connected… Software is piece of crap. I paid for 24 months and I want refund after few days more than 30 days and the reject to refund.
    Do not trust SurfShark. Pay a little more and everything will at least work which won’t with surfshark!

    • Ed Savinksy says:

      Did you not experience these issues during the first 30 days of your service? The refund policy is clearly stated, so not sure why you’d be upset because you waited beyond that time to cancel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *