Reading Time: 1 minutes

Ubuntu是市场上最流行的基于Linux的操作系统。它的开放源代码性质使其成为吸引开发人员的有吸引力的OS,使他们能够对系统进行试验和控制,其程度远远超过Windows或macOS所允许。 Ubuntu在安全性方面广为人知,但确保互联网上数据的安全性仍然是一个好主意。

可以通过适用于Ubuntu的价格合理的VPN服务(例如PureVPN)来实现这一目标。但是,在此博客中,我将仅列出适用于Ubuntu的免费VPN服务,以便您可以立即以零成本保护Ubuntu系统。

 

为什么要为Ubuntu使用VPN?

毫无疑问,Ubuntu可能是我们今天拥有的最安全的操作系统。这是因为由于基于Linux的操作系统上的整个安装过程更加透明,因此更容易清除恶意软件。最重要的是,Ubuntu缺少Windows特有的许多可用性特权,因此更容易受到黑客或恶意软件的感染。

话虽如此,Ubuntu中并没有阻止用户将受感染文件引入系统的功能。如今,常识的重要性仍然很重要,要确保互联网安全,通常需要常识甚至更多。幸运的是,更多地,我们有一些免费的VPN服务,可以很好地完成这项工作。

VPN通常被称为一种软件工具,可以更改您的IP地址,从而更改您在网络上的明显位置。但这并不是VPN的全部优点。实际上,VPN还会对互联网上的用户数据进行加密,因此您不再是坐立不安的人,不会因为受到欺骗和恶意黑客和病毒的攻击而四处张望。

关于Ubuntu最好的免费VPN服务

下面,我列出了5个VPN服务商,你可以立即获得这些VPN服务商以在网络上提供更多保护。你还可以查看有关适用于Linux的最好的免费VPN的博客。

1. ProtonVPN

寻找适用于Ubuntu的VPN? ProtonVPN使用高级加密标准,并免费提供无限带宽吗?您可以通过命令行或GNOME(GUI网络管理器)在Ubuntu上安装此提供程序。

ProtonVPN - Best Free VPN for Ubuntu 16.04

此VPN为用户和AES-256加密提供了良好的隐私策略。此外,它为Ubuntu提供了IKEv2隧道协议,这是现有最安全,最快的VPN协议。因此,除了免费提供之外,ProtonVPN几乎可以提供高级提供商的所有功能。

VPN适用于Ubuntu 14.04以及更高版本的Ubuntu 18.04。

优点
  • 快速的服务器速度
  • 坚固的安全性和加密
  • 无数据限制
缺点
  • 有限的服务器位置

 

2. Windscribe

Windscribe是加拿大的提供商,在短时间内赢得了全世界用户的信任。它是免费提供的,免费提供11个不同的服务器位置。尽管速度不是很快,但是它使用AES-256位加密标准提供了相当强的安全性。

Windscribe VPN

如果需要无限带宽,则可以升级到高级版本。但是,如果您仅使用互联网浏览并在某些地方进行一些视频/音频流传输,则数据限制可能就足够了。

我还要补充一点,由于Windscribe的兼容性和对操作系统的支持,可以将其视为“ Ubuntu 16.04 VPN”。您可以在其官方网站上查看安装说明。

优点
  • Ubuntu的11台服务器位置(免费)
  • 强大的加密
  • 用户友好的隐私政策
缺点
  • 平庸的速度

 

3. TunnelBear

TunnelBear是另一家以提供具有高度安全性和加密功能的免费VPN服务而闻名的提供商。它仅对Ubuntu提供有限的支持,用户必须使用OpenVPN对其进行手动设置。该服务提供的带宽限制为每月500MB,这太低了。但是,通过在您的个人帐户上发布有关该服务的推文,可以将其增加到1.5 GB。

TunnelBear

TunnelBear作为一项服务得到了改进,在隐私策略中进行了一些更改。提供商以前要求注册用户的全名,为了追求更大的隐私性,该要求现已撤消。拥有20多个Ubuntu VPN服务器,Tunnel Bear VPN绝对值得一试。

如果您正在寻找适用于Ubuntu 14.04、16.04或版本18.04的高级服务。

优点
  • Ubuntu的军事级加密
  • 服务器很少停机
  • 最小日志记录策略
缺点
  • 有限的Ubuntu支持

 

4. Hide.Me

Hide.Me为Ubuntu用户提供IKEv2和OpenVPN协议。由于IKEv2被认为是最安全的协议,而且速度很快,因此Hide.Me成为免费提供商服务商中出色的VPN。

Hide-me

此VPN的一个缺点是它有2GB /月的带宽限制,这是非常低的。由于此限制,只能少量使用。为了获得无限的数据,用户可以订阅Ubuntu的付费版本并最大化安全性。

Hide.Me 与Ubuntu 14.04及更高版本以及Fedora 24+ Distros兼容。

优点
  • 适用于Ubuntu的快速安全的VPN协议
  • 没有广告
  • 稳定的连接
缺点
  • 低带宽限制

 

5. SecurityKISS

SecurityKISS是另一个在免费增值模式下运行的VPN提供商。用户可以通过手动配置OpenVPN在Ubuntu上设置VPN。像大多数提供商一样,它不提供本地Ubuntu VPN客户端。

SecurityKISS

SecurityKISS的免费版本每天有300MB的数据限制。它优先考虑用户隐私和匿名,并且不需要任何个人详细信息即可将其下载到系统上。因此,从隐私角度来看,这是一项很好的服务。

优点
  • OpenVPN对Ubuntu的支持
  • 有利于匿名
Cons
  • 低带宽限制

结论

VPN服务在增强用户使用Internet的安全性方面起着至关重要的作用。尽管Ubuntu具有卓越的安全性,但它仍无法幸免于黑客和恶意软件。您至少可以做的是使用可靠的廉价或免费VPN,并获得更高的安全性。

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Ubuntu is the most popular Linux-based operating system in the market. Its open-source nature makes it an appealing OS for developers who are given to experimenting and having control over their systems to a much greater degree than Windows or macOS allows. Ubuntu is known for its sturdiness in terms of security, but it still a good idea to ensure the security of your data on the Internet.

This can be attained with a good affordable VPN service for Ubuntu like Surfshark, also offering a free trial. In this blog, I will list only free VPN service for Ubuntu so you can immediately secure your Ubuntu systems with zero cost.

Why You Should Use VPN for Ubuntu?

There is no doubt that Ubuntu is probably the most secure operating system we have today. This s because it is much easier to get rid of malware owing to the fact that the whole installation process in more transparent on Linux-based OSs. On top of that, it is simply more difficult for Ubuntu to get infected by hackers or malware since it lacks many of the usability privileges endemic to Windows.

Having said that, there is nothing in Ubuntu to prevent users from introducing infected files on the system. The importance of common sense is still relevant today, and staying safe on the Internet often requires common sense and more. For the more part, we, fortunately, have a few free VPN services that can do the job reasonably well.

VPNs are commonly known as a software tool that changes your IP address and thus your apparent location on the web. But that is not all a VPN is good for. In fact, a VPN also encrypts user data on the Internet so you are no longer a sitting duck, lying open and vulnerable to the trickeries and malice of hackers and viruses.

Best Free VPN Services for Ubuntu

Below, I have listed 5 VPN providers that you can immediately obtain for added protection on the web. You can also check out our blog on best free VPN for Linux.

1. ProtonVPN

Looking for a VPN that works with Ubuntu? ProtonVPN uses advanced encryption standards, and offers unlimited bandwidth all for free? Then ProtonVPN is your guy. You can install this provider on your Ubuntu through either the command-line or the GNOME (GUI Network Manager).

ProtonVPN - Best Free VPN for Ubuntu 16.04

This VPN offers a good privacy policy for users and AES-256 encryption. In addition, it offers the IKEv2 tunneling protocol for Ubuntu which is the most secure and fastest VPN protocol in existence. Therefore, ProtonVPN offers almost every that a premium provider does, except it’s for free.

The VPN is available for Ubuntu 14.04 and onwards to Ubuntu 18.04.

Pros
  • Fast server speeds
  • Sturdy security and encryption
  • No data limits
Cons
  • Limited server locations

 

2. Windscribe

Windscribe is a Canadian provider that has earned the trust of users all over the world in a short time. It is available for free, offering 11 distinct server locations at no cost. Although it is not very fast, it provides reasonably strong security using the AES-256 bit encryption standard.

Windscribe VPN

Windscribe comes with a data cap of 10GB/month for Ubuntu users. You can upgrade to its premium version if you want unlimited bandwidth. Nonetheless, if you only use the Internet for browsing with some video/audio streaming here and there, the data limit can be sufficient.

I’d also like to add that Windscribe can be considered as ‘Ubuntu 16.04 VPN’ for its compatibility and support toward the OS. You can view the installation instructions on their official website.

Windscribe is even listed in the list of XBMC free VPN of 2019.

Pros
  • 11 Server locations (free) for Ubuntu
  • Strong encryption
  • User-friendly privacy policy
Cons
  • Mediocre speeds

 

3. TunnelBear

TunnelBear is another provider known for providing free VPN services with great security and encryption. It offers limited support for Ubuntu and users have to set it up manually using OpenVPN. The service provides a bandwidth limit of 500MB/month, which is exceedingly low. This can, however, be increased to 1.5 GB by tweeting about the service on your personal accounts.

TunnelBear

TunnelBear has improved as a service, with some changes introduced in the privacy policy. The provider previously required the full name of the user signing up, a requirement that has been retracted now in the pursuit of greater privacy. With 20+ Ubuntu VPN servers, Tunnel Bear VPN is definitely worth a try.

If you are looking for premium services for Ubuntu 14.04, 16.04 or version 18.04, see the best premium VPNs for Ubuntu.

Pros
  • Military-grade encryption for Ubuntu
  • Servers rarely undergo downtime
  • Minimal logging policy
Cons
  • Limited Ubuntu support

 

4. Hide.Me

Hide.Me offers IKEv2 and OpenVPN protocols for Ubuntu users. Since IKEv2 is believed to be the most secure of the protocols while also being fast, this makes Hide.Me a considerably good VPN out of the free providers.

Hide-me

The one downside to this VPN is that it has a 2GB/month bandwidth limit, which is quite low. Due to this limit, it can only be sparingly used. To get unlimited data, users can subscribe to the paid version for Ubuntu and maximize security.

Hide.Me is compatible with Ubuntu 14.04 onwards as well as Fedora 24+ distros.

Pros
  • Fast and secure VPN protocols for Ubuntu
  • Zero advertisements
  • Stable connectivity
Cons
  • Low bandwidth limit

 

5. SecurityKISS

SecurityKISS is another VPN provider operating on the freemium model. Users can setup VPN on Ubuntu through the manual configuration of OpenVPN. Like most providers, it does not offer a native Ubuntu VPN client.

SecurityKISS

SecurityKISS has 300MB/day data limit on its free version. It prioritizes user privacy and anonymity and does not require any personal details to download it on your system. As such, it is a good service from the privacy point of view.

Pros
  • OpenVPN support for Ubuntu
  • Good for anonymity
Cons
  • Low bandwidth limit

For more extensive coverage of free providers, view the blog on best free VPNs overall.

Final Verdict: Best Free VPNs for Ubuntu

VPN services are playing a crucial role in enhancing the security of users while they are using the Internet. In spite of Ubuntu’s superior security, it is not immune to hackers and malware. The least you can do is to use a reliable either cheap or free VPN and attain a higher level of security.